Experience Reading A-Z: Leveled Books for Every Reader

Part 1 - How Reading A-Z's Library of Fiction and Nonfiction Books Are Leveled

Reading A-Z is an online resource developed by Learning A-Z famous for its library of books and texts offered at 29 developmentally appropriate reading levels. Take a quick look at just how our best-in-class leveling system works!

The Leveling System

NEW Leveling Bar

RAZ Level Boy

The proprietary leveling system used on Reading A-Z was developed over 10 years with input from teachers and instructional experts. Thousands of books — from simple sentences to complex novels — were put into the system to create developmentally appropriate levels for every student.

Learn More >

The Text Levels

RAZ Text Levels

Reading A-Z's leveled texts are divided into 4 stages of reading development.

The Leveling Measures

Every leveled Reading A-Z text is reviewed to determine its appropriate qualitative and quantitative measures.

Qualitative assessment ensures appropriate:

  • Predictability of text
  • Text structure and organization
  • Illustration support
  • Infographics
  • Knowledge demands

Quantitative assessment ensures appropriate:

  • Total word count
  • Number of different words
  • Number of high-frequency words
  • Number of low-frequency words
  • Sentence length
  • Sentence complexity

The Leveling Process

Every test goes through a precise 5-step review to ensure accurate and reliable leveling.

RAZ Leveling Process

Assessing Students’ Levels

Reading A-Z provides a 3-part assessment process to help you place students in the instructionally appropriate level.

RAZ Student Levels

Using Leveled Texts

Reading A-Z offers a number of leveled texts to vary instruction and keep students engaged.

RAZ Resources
  • Leveled Books
  • Serial Books
  • Fluency Practice Passages
  • Reader's Theater Scripts
RAZ trial